EYC Racing Fleet Home Page

The Erie Yacht Club has a long history of yacht racing as evidenced by the many trophies in our display case. One of the most prestigious is the Annette Cup that was established in 1907 shortly after the formation and incorporation of the EYC. Previously, yacht racing on Lake Erie had spawned the formation of the Inter Lake Yachting Association in 1885. The annual regatta competition and camaraderie brought on by ILYA racing provided one of the many reasons for forming a yacht club in Erie. Since its inception in 1895, Erie Yacht Club racers have competed at the ILYA’s annual regatta at Put-in Bay, Ohio as well as others throughout the U.S. and Canada. The Erie Yacht Club hosted the ILYA Regatta in 1920 which was so  overwhelmingly successful, the ILYA awarded the Erie Yacht Club a German made chiming ship's bell clock currently displayed in our lounge in appreciation of the EYC's hospitality. Racing continues today with a strong organization and large fleet.

Locally, the fleet has raced under various handicap systems and numerous one design classes over it’s one hundred plus year history. The current organization was formed in the spring of 1992 with a single racing authority using the PHRF-Lake Erie handicap system under the EYCRF banner. The fleet is currently comprised of three divisions; Spinnaker, Family JAM and Jib & Main. The fleet has been skillfully helmed by the volunteer chairmen listed here and their numerous committees since its inception. We owe the positive evolution and success of our fleet to these hardworking leaders. Welcome to the Erie Yacht Club Racing Fleet!

E-mail 2019 chairman: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with questions.


2019 Officers and Committee contacts


Notice to Competitors 

     None to date 

 2019 Events   

  • FEB  12  TUE   Social Meeting 7:00PM.  Welcome with Presentation of 2019 schedule,Great Lakes Singlehanded Society solo sailor, John Lubimir, speaks about his transatlantic crossing, his stopover in the Azores and his participation in the Round the Island race in England. 
  • MAR 26 TUE  Social meeting 7:00PM with North Sail's Karl Kuspa on downwind performance.
  • APR  23 TUE   Nick Turney of Turney Sailing Services will discuss racing tactics.     
  • MAY 8   WED  7:00pm -First Race
  • JUL 12   FRI    EYC Foundation Raw Bar Fund Raiser @ Rickloff Community Boathouse
  • AUG  9   SAT   Koehler Cup - Ashtabula YC Steak Dinner/Corn roast  6:00 pm 
  • AUG 24  SAT   EYCRF Chairman's Picnic @ Rickloff Community Boathouse
  • SEP   7   SAT   5h Annual EYCF Wooden Boat Race 
  • NOV  2   SAT   2019 Awards Banquet

Past Racing Fleet Chairs

2019 Jeff Benson
2018 Mike Kohler
2017 Frank Jarecki
2016 Alex Miller
2015 Jon Stull
2014 A.J. Ficcardi
2013 Kimberly Yamma
2012 Jon Tushak
2011 Greg Gorny
2010 P/C John Orlando
2009 Tom Madura
2008 P/C Matt Niemic
2007 P/C Ronald Busse
2006 Rick Diz
2005 Russ Thompson
 2003-04 P/C Tom Trost
2002 Rick Barner
2000-01 P/C David Amatangelo
1999 Rick Kern
1998 Matt Wolford
1996-97 David Haller
1995 Kit Kershaw
1994 P/C Dave Heitzenrater
1993 John Bloomstine
1992 P/C John Ashby